Meet the team – Ildiko

Originally from Hungary, our new Vendor Co-ordinator Ildiko tells us about her time in the hospitality industry, why she moved into localisation, and what makes her get out of bed in the morning.

Why did you join Capita?

A friend recommended a job at Capita TI. She’s been working here for 7 years and she’s really enjoying it. I always wanted to work with languages and Capita TI seemed like the perfect place to start.

What’s your background?

I came from Hungary 7 years ago to spend a summer in the UK to help improve my English, after spending 4 years studying Spanish literature and linguistics. When the summer ended, I decided to stay here and got a job in hospitality, and that’s what I’ve done for the last 7 years.

What localisation experience do you have?

I don’t have a lot of experience in localisation – this is a very new area for me. I’ve done a couple of interpreting assignments in the past, but it was only on a voluntary basis.

What would you consider to be your biggest professional success?

My biggest professional success is working my way up from being a cleaner to becoming a trainee assistant manager of a prestigious restaurant. It makes me proud to see how far I’ve come in the last couple of years.

What do you find particularly challenging in this industry?

Coming from a very different industry, it is difficult to understand the terminology involved in this role. Sometimes I feel like I need a dictionary just to understand what people are talking about with all the abbreviations!

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I don’t know; things are changing so fast in this world. I hope I’ll get married, be in a job that I really enjoy, and I hope I’ll get to live near to my family to be able to see them more than just once a year.

What makes you get out of bed in the morning?

The fact that at the end of the day, I can go back to bed. I love sleeping.

What are your hobbies outside of work?

I love everything outdoorsy, from hiking to climbing to ghyll scrambling (a type of gorge walking) to kayaking. I’m obsessed with the Lake District so whenever I have some free time I always spend it there, doing outdoor activities. I really enjoy snowboarding with my partner. I also love travelling, getting to know new cultures and visiting places I’ve never been before.

I’ve just been to Norway to hike up to Trolltunga which was the most epic experience of my life. I’m hoping to be able to do one of the seven summits of the world.

Do you speak any other languages?

My native language is Hungarian, but I can speak English and Spanish (I’m a bit rusty though). I also understand a bit of Portuguese and Italian, and I can say a few sentences in Finnish.



Share this story

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up